# Diamond Foundry Claims First 200mm Single-Crystal Diamond for AI Chips

- URL: https://usa-24.com/diamond-foundry-200mm-single-crystal-diamond/
- Publisher: USA 24
- Section: Innovations
- Published: 2026-11-06T23:01:18.873Z
- Updated: 2026-11-06T23:01:18.879Z
- Topics: Diamond Foundry, Semiconductors, AI Chips, Chip Cooling, Advanced Materials

> Diamond Foundry says it has grown the first 200mm single-crystal diamond, a wafer-scale step aimed at AI chip heat. The crystal is unpolished, and key questions remain open.

## Key takeaways

- Diamond Foundry says it has grown the first single-crystal diamond at 200mm, announced on Nov. 6, 2026.
- The crystal is shown unpolished and as grown, so polished-wafer quality, yield and pricing remain undisclosed.
- The company's wafer page lists diamond's thermal conductivity at 3,000, compared with 150 for silicon and 380 for copper.
- A 2018 academic paper described commercially available wafer-sized diamond up to 100 mm, so the new crystal doubles that size.
- No customer device or chip qualification has been named, so the announcement does not change what chipmakers can buy today.

A San Francisco company says it has grown a 200mm single-crystal diamond, the first crystal of that size, and it is pitching the result as a way to ease heat inside AI chips. Diamond Foundry Inc. [announced the milestone on Nov. 6, 2026](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/diamond-foundry-announces-first-ever-d200mm-single-crystal-diamond-302931849.html). If the claim holds up, it points to a substrate that moves heat far faster than silicon. The company has shown an unpolished crystal, not a finished wafer, though, and most of the questions a chip buyer would ask are still unanswered.

## What Diamond Foundry says it grew

The company says the crystal is 200 millimeters in diameter, which it calls D200mm scale, and that it is the first single-crystal diamond made at that size. The piece is shown as grown and unpolished, straight from the growth process. That distinction matters. Polishing, flatness and defect levels determine whether a wafer can move through a production line, and the release does not report any of those measurements.

The company credits the work to co-founders Stefan Gsell and Martin Fischer, who have spent 25 years on the problem, according to the [Semiconductor Digest version of the release](https://www.semiconductor-digest.com/diamond-foundry-announces-first-ever-d200mm-single-crystal-diamond/). CEO Martin Roscheisen made the announcement by video keynote at CarbonSemi 2026 in Ningbo, China. "This is one of those milestones that once seemed almost impossible," Roscheisen said.

The release also says the milestone makes a 300mm diamond wafer "predictable." That reads as a statement about the company's roadmap, not a delivered product. No 300mm sample is described in the material.

## Why heat is the limit for AI processors

Modern AI processors concentrate large amounts of power into very small regions of silicon. That heat can force chips to slow down and can shorten their working life. Diamond Foundry's argument is that a diamond substrate could spread heat away from those hot spots more effectively than the materials used today.

The company's [wafer page](https://www.df.com/diamond-wafer) calls diamond an "ultimate thermal conductor" and says the material lets chips run faster and last longer. Those are company claims, and the company sells the material it is describing. The underlying physics is well established, though, which is why diamond has drawn attention in electronics for years.

Silicon has been the default chip substrate for decades. The industry has moved to larger wafers over time to spread manufacturing costs across more chips. Diamond Foundry's own materials include a timeline of wafer diameters from 1950 to 2030 that compares silicon, silicon carbide and diamond. That chart is marketing material, but it shows the scale problem the company has to solve. A material that cannot be grown big enough cannot compete on cost, however strong its thermal numbers look.

## How diamond compares with silicon, copper and other materials

The company's wafer page lists a short set of properties. Here is how those figures line up.

| Material | Thermal conductivity (as listed by Diamond Foundry) | Breakdown field (MV/cm) |
|---|---|---|
| Silicon | 150 | 0.3 |
| Copper | 380 | Not listed |
| Diamond | 3,000 | 10 |
| Silicon carbide | Not listed | 3 |
| Gallium nitride | Not listed | 5 |

By those numbers, diamond conducts heat about eight times better than copper and about 20 times better than silicon. Its breakdown field is roughly 33 times silicon's. The breakdown field matters most for high-voltage power devices, a different use from processor cooling, so the two figures should not be read as one case. The units on that page should also be checked against the original before anyone cites them in a spec sheet.

Earlier diamond work used smaller crystals. A 2018 [academic paper on arXiv](https://arxiv.org/pdf/1810.09350) described commercially available wafer-sized diamond up to 100 mm. A 200mm crystal doubles that figure. The comparison is to a 2018 paper, not to a current price list, so it says more about direction than about today's market.

## What the announcement does not prove

Independent coverage is thin. The release has been syndicated to PR Newswire, Yahoo Finance, TechPowerUp and other sites, but those copies repeat the same company material and do not count as separate confirmation. [RuntimeWire's analysis](https://runtimewire.com/article/diamond-foundry-200mm-single-crystal-diamond-roscheisen) is the only outlet found that adds scrutiny, and it notes the announcement does not prove polished-wafer quality, yield, pricing or a customer device.

Several gaps stand out:

- Polished-wafer quality is unproven because the crystal is unpolished and as grown.
- Yield, pricing and manufacturing economics at 200mm are not disclosed.
- No customer device or chip qualification is named.
- The "#1 producer" claim and the "available in volume" language come from the company and have not been checked independently.

The release also describes a $2.77 billion planned EU Chips Act project in Spain as part of the company's chip-substrate push. It does not explain how that project relates to the 200mm result. Nor does it say whether the work carries export or supply-chain implications for US buyers. The announcement came at a conference in China, and those questions remain open.

## Who in the US should pay attention

US chip designers, AI data-center operators and substrate suppliers are the groups most directly exposed in principle, because heat is a real limit on AI hardware. Yet the announcement does not change what chipmakers can buy today. No product is named, no customer sample is described and no delivery date appears in the release.

For investors and business owners tracking AI hardware supply chains, the right label is early materials milestone, not near-term supply event. The result is a technical signal, and it should be judged as one until a buyer publicly qualifies the material. Companies that spend heavily on data-center cooling will want to see test data before they change any purchasing plans.

Policy shapes this area too. USA 24 recently reported that [CHIPS Act awards of $389 million come with government equity stakes](https://usa-24.com/chips-act-389-million-equity-stakes/), a sign that Washington is willing to take ownership positions in domestic chip supply. Diamond Foundry's release points to an EU project, not a US one, so any link to that policy is speculative for now.

Heat is not the only bottleneck. AI data-center builders are also looking at other fixes, and PsiQuantum recently unveiled an [8x8 optical switch aimed at AI data centers](https://usa-24.com/psiquantum-optical-circuit-switch-ai/). That product targets a different constraint, moving data between machines, which means the two approaches could sit side by side in the same facilities.

## What to watch next

Four signals would tell you more than the press release does: polished-wafer data, yield figures at 200mm, a named customer or chip qualification, and independent measurements of thermal performance. The 300mm claim also needs a timeline. If the company publishes any of those, the story moves from a materials milestone to a supply question.

There is nothing for consumers to do here. Readers who follow the story can simply watch those four signals, and treat any new claim as a company statement until outside labs or chip designers confirm it. The next real test is whether a chip designer puts a diamond substrate into a qualification run and says so publicly.

## Frequently asked questions

### What did Diamond Foundry announce?

Diamond Foundry Inc. said on Nov. 6, 2026 that it grew the first single-crystal diamond at 200mm, or D200mm scale. The crystal is shown unpolished and as grown, not as a finished wafer. The company credits the work to co-founders Stefan Gsell and Martin Fischer after 25 years of effort.

### Why does diamond matter for AI chips?

AI processors pack large amounts of power into small areas, and the resulting heat can limit performance. Diamond Foundry's wafer page lists diamond's thermal conductivity at 3,000, compared with 150 for silicon and 380 for copper. Those are company-provided figures and have not been independently verified.

### Can chipmakers buy 200mm diamond wafers now?

Not on the basis of this announcement. The release names no customer, device or chip qualification, and it does not disclose yield or pricing at 200mm. The company's description of a 300mm wafer as predictable is a roadmap claim, not a product.

### Has the 200mm diamond result been independently confirmed?

Not yet. Syndicated copies on PR Newswire, Yahoo Finance and TechPowerUp repeat the company's release. RuntimeWire added analysis but notes that polished-wafer quality, yield, pricing and customer use remain unproven.

## Sources

1. [Diamond Foundry Announces First-Ever D200mm Single-Crystal Diamond (PR Newswire)](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/diamond-foundry-announces-first-ever-d200mm-single-crystal-diamond-302931849.html)
2. [Diamond Foundry Announces First-Ever D200mm Single-Crystal Diamond (Semiconductor Digest)](https://www.semiconductor-digest.com/diamond-foundry-announces-first-ever-d200mm-single-crystal-diamond/)
3. [Diamond Foundry says it grew a 200mm single-crystal diamond after 25 years (RuntimeWire)](https://runtimewire.com/article/diamond-foundry-200mm-single-crystal-diamond-roscheisen)
4. [Single-Crystal Diamond Wafers (Diamond Foundry)](https://www.df.com/diamond-wafer)
5. [Towards wafer-scale diamond nano- and quantum technologies (arXiv)](https://arxiv.org/pdf/1810.09350)
